One Kind Word

teacher inspires

Sometimes, all it takes is a kind word to change an entire mood.  I was having a rough day – a rough start to the new year actually.  I wasn’t really “feeling the kindness” today.  Then, in my inbox was an email from a parent of a child in my class.  It totally turned my mood and my day into a much more positive one.  I have included part of it, (anonymously), for today’s blog, not to pat myself on the back, but to show how one kind email, letter or word can really make an impact on someone:

“while this may not be the most timely response, it is heartfelt. ____ and I (child’s parents) wanted to thank you for everything you do for (child) and for all of the kids in your care.  It is incredible to think of everything you do for the kids under ordinary circumstances, keeping them safe, educating them, guiding them, and playing with them.  What happened in Newtown tragically emphasized, again, how much teachers can be called upon to do, and will do, under the worst, most unimaginable circumstances.  It is, of course, something that no one should be expected to confront. However, we just wanted to let you know that we take heart in knowing that (child) is with you, and that you will safeguard (child), whatever the circumstances may be. Thank you.  (Child) has seemed to adjust to kindergarten better than I ever would have dared hope, particularly in light of (child’s) somewhat shy personality and the challenges (child) faces in coping with change. I have expressed this sentiment in an email to you previously, but, again, I just wanted to thank you. I know your influence is a significant reason why (child) has adjusted as well as (child) has.”

So keep in mind, it doesn’t take much.  Write a kind letter to your child’s teacher.  Let them know that they are appreciated.  It really does mean a lot!

 

2 thoughts on “One Kind Word

  1. Lisa Ebert January 3, 2013 at 8:40 pm Reply

    Claire, thats so wonderful, and thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

