Jelly Belly Moments

good in every day

I was wondering if there would be some days that I just would not be able to find something to write about.  Then, today, I came across this quote, “Every day may not be good, but there is something good in everyday”.  I stopped to think about it. Could it have been the amazing moon Drew and I saw while we were driving home from his batting practice?  Or maybe the two boys who in the middle of batting practice actually said “excuse me” when they reached under me to grab their bats.  Maybe it was the three hours I had all alone in my classroom today.

My own boys and I were bickering all day.  Me, because I was disappointed in their school work – or lack of school work!   Them, because I was nagging them about it.  It made for a day of unkind words and moments between us and put all three of us in foul moods.  That quote made me sit back and think.  Yes, we were cranky and crabby, but as Drew and I rode in silence in the car, we both took notice of that fabulous moon and both had to talk to each other about it.   If only there had been a place to pull over and take a picture of it…we could have made a great memory.

I read on another blogger’s post,  that “life is like a tiny bag of jelly bellies.  The woman thought that jelly bellies were the perfect sweet treat while she was on a diet and let herself savor a few jelly bellies everyday.  Those jelly bellies, gave her a boost and made her happy.  Just like her life which was filled with little moments that gave her a boost and made her happy.  In her blog, she made a list of her “jelly belly moments”.  You can read them here.

5kidswdisabilites.com/2013/01/14/life-is-like-a-tiny-bag-of-jelly-bellies/

I decided to list a few of my own “jelly bellies”

  1. When Drew, (even at 11), cuddles up on the couch with me to watch something on television
  2. When the boys are in the den, and I can hear them laughing
  3. When Dave sends me a sweet text while I am at work
  4. When Dave makes dinner and adds cheese, (my favorite food), even though he does not like it
  5. When one of my students accidentally calls me “mom”
  6. A snow day!
  7. Getting a bargain, (anyone who knows me well knows how much I love this)!
  8. Jokes that only Dave and I understand
  9. When my roommate from college still calls me “Claire Bear” when we speak
  10. Seeing a yellow butterfly

I plan on focusing on more jelly belly moments when I am having a day like today.  Even just after writing this, my spirits are lifted and I am in a much better mood.  Try to think of some of your own jelly belly moments.  Let me know what you come up with!  I would love to hear some of them in the comments.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Jelly Belly Moments

  1. 5kidswdisabilities January 26, 2013 at 6:34 pm Reply

    Thank you for sharing my post! I LOVE the way you put a “saying” on a piece of paper in the window. VERY clever!

  2. clairesinclair January 26, 2013 at 6:55 pm Reply

    Actually I found that quote on pinterest – but it is a great idea isn’t it? Might have to just try it!

Leave a Reply

