Music

music is

Have you ever noticed how many benefits listening to music has? It can cheer you up, relieve stress and motivate you. This morning I led a kickboxing class and decided to use my “running mix” as the playlist. I am not much of a runner, and my playlist includes songs that are fast and upbeat as well as some that are more relaxed. Those upbeat fast moving songs make me run faster and the mellow ones help me to slow down and catch my breath. It was the first time to use the playlist in a class so I was very conscious of how other perceived it. For the most part it was well received. Really upbeat, fun punching music. Sounds funny to write about punching in a kindness blog, but Kickboxing is a huge stress reliever for me. Not only is it a great workout but sometimes hitting an object as hard as I can let’s me get rid of any negativity I might be harboring.
But back to the main idea of today’s blog. As I was driving home I was thinking about music and wondering if there were many songs that were actually about kindness. Not just kiddie songs that I might teach at school, but actual songs you might hear on the radio. There’s no shortage of songs about guns, sex, breaking up and violence but I was having trouble coming up with songs about kindness towards others. Not just love songs, but kindness. I am not saying that I don’t listen to all sorts of music,  I do and I enjoy most of it! It just surprised me that I could not come up with any off the top of my head.
I googled “songs about kindness” when I got home. The first one that appeared was, “We are the World“. There aren’t many songs kinder than that one but that’s an old one! Bob Marley’s song, “One Love“, is another but still not recent. I’m really not current with music, my kids try to keep me up to date but I’ll admit I’m more than a little clueless. Maybe some of you can help out. Let me know some songs that promote kindness. Write them in the comments. It’s so discouraging to think that kids can list numerous songs about  hate, sex or violence in them but will have a tough time with songs promoting the opposite. I look forward to being proven wrong on this one! Show me that there a lot of them out there!

Edited to add: Tonight I was telling my boys about today’s blog. I asked them if they could think of a song that was about kindness.  Without hesitation, Drew said “Home” by Philip Philips. A few minutes later the song came in the radio and sure enough, he was right!

Oh! And my “jelly belly” moment for today, I realized I can write my blog on my phone!
(Yesterday’s post will explain).

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Music

  1. clairesinclair January 27, 2013 at 8:02 pm Reply

    For some reason, DJ cannot leave a comment but he said, “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”, by IZ, Kamakawiwa’ole. The Hawaiian version. (I have to say, I love this one myself).

  2. Lindsay Forsythe January 29, 2013 at 10:58 am Reply

    I always like to play “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” for the kids once in a while (Bobby McFerrin) There’s the part in the middle, “Here I give you my phone number , When you worry call me, I make you happy, Don’t worry, be happy”

  3. clairesinclair January 29, 2013 at 4:37 pm Reply

    Love that song!! Thanks for reminder!

Leave a Reply

