What’s More Important??

importance

“What is more important, school or love?”   

One of my kindergarteners asked me this question this afternoon.  I had to think about it for a minute.  I asked her what she thought and she said, “I don’t know, that’s why I am asking you”.  Fortunately, our librarian walked in a that moment so we asked her.  Her response was, “I think that everything happens because of love”.  I have been thinking about that all afternoon.

I tried to relate it to “work/love” instead of “school/love” as an adult.  Love is what drives me. It plays a huge role in my daily life.  Loving what I do, being a mom, a wife, a teacher and a friend makes me work harder to make sure that I am being the best that I can be in each of those callings.  I love my family and I work very hard to support them, but I also love my job.  I cannot imagine myself doing anything different than what I am doing with my life right now.

If you have goals that you really want to accomplish, then I think that you can accomplish them and I am lucky that I  have a  family that supports me in all of them – no matter how far fetched some of them might be, (and some of them really are).  I think that all decisions require some element of sacrifice and to make a loving relationship work, there needs to be some give and take on all sides.

Don’t let somebody make the choice for you. If you want to have love and an education/job…then have it.  Just don’t give up your dreams for anyone else.   If you choose a person over your dreams, it is just a matter of time until you become bitter and start putting blame on them for not reaching your goals.  This is not to say you can’t have it all.  Find someone who will support you and your goals.  If you have goals that you really want to accomplish, then you will accomplish them.

It’s a decision only you can make.  Love the people who treat you right, forget about the ones who do not, and believe that everything happens for a reason.   If you get a chance, take it.  If it changes your life let it.   Love may not bring you education or a job but education can bring you love.  It certainly has for me~

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

