Welcome Back

teach-children-quote

Today was my first day back to work since my mom died.  I have never taken so much time away from my class.  I was away from them for seven days.  I missed them and I know that they missed me too.  I knew that getting back to work was going to be hard but I also knew that it was going to be good for me.  The support that I have been receiving over the last two weeks, from the families of my students and from the staff at my school as been incredible.  Letters, cards, emails, messages, phone calls…it has been staggering.  Today was no different.  I thought that it was going to be difficult, but it was completely the opposite.  The solace and comfort I received from the teachers, the students and their parents was incredibly gratifying.

I walked into my classroom to see the most beautiful display.  It was a welcome back message.  I could not help but smile. Each child had made a flower and written something that they loved about me.  It almost brought me to tears, but this time, the tears were happiness.  It was exactly what I needed to start my day.  They were so excited to show it to me when they got to school.  They were as happy to see me as I was to see them.  It was so good to be back.

class flower project

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

