Spring

stormy time

Spring has always been my favorite season. 

The promise of warmer and longer days,blossoming trees, blooming flowers…rejuvenation.  It gives us such a sense of hope.  I always think of the coming of Spring as a time of new life.  After what has been a miserable Autumn and Winter weather wise, I could not wait for Spring’s arrival this year. 

T.S. Eliot wrote, “April is the cruelest month”.  Before this year, I NEVER would have agreed but in the shadow of Francine’s death following so quickly after my mom’s, I am beginning to think he was right.  With Francine dying in April and my mom being buried on the first day of Spring, it has not only been cruel but merciless.

This season that is supposed to bring “New Life”, has brought my family the complete opposite.   It seems so nonsensical.   My greatest hope right now is that these April showers that we are experiencing will bring our family May flowers and that the sadness and grief that we have experienced throughout this season will lead us to a period of contentment. 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

