Yellow Butterflies

butterfly

Today, I went to my mailbox at school and found a gift inside.  There was a card with the above quote, “Just when the caterpillar thought the world was over, it became a butterfly”.  With it, were two packages of cocktail napkins with butterflies and inspirational quotes on them.  A tiny little gift, from a friend at work, that meant so much to me.  Not just the quote itself, but that she knew how much butterflies meant to me and knew that it would bring a smile to my face and it did.

Butterflies have had a significant meaning to me for about 7 years now.  Back when my husband lost his job, our kids were still quite young and we knew that I would have to go back to work full time.  It was a difficult time in our lives, and the stress of looking for work, no salary coming in was terrifying.  I would walk DJ to school each morning and for several weeks, I kept noticing a yellow butterfly that “followed” me home…daily!!  I knew it was silly, but I saw it everywhere.   I had heard stories of “spirits” that came back in forms like that, but I had no one close to me that had died, so that meant nothing to me.

I could not figure out what the meaning behind this yellow butterfly was.  I told everyone about it trying to figure it out but it was really just something fun to talk about.  Dave just laughed and brushed it off as a coincidence. Then, one morning, I was on my way to the gym when I stepped inside and saw a yellow butterfly lying right outside the door.   Of course, by now, it was becoming a little peculiar.  I got on the treadmill at the gym, opened a magazine and the page it fell open to, had a two page spread with the word, “Butterflies” in huge letters written across both pages.  Yellow butterflies were all over those pages.  I took the magazine home, put it right in Dave’s face and said, “still think it is just a coincidence?”  Even he had to admit it was a bit bizarre.

About a week later, I had an interview at a school in town.  I walked into the building and a big sign in the lobby read, “Our butterflies hatched today”.  Of course I thought that could only mean it would be a positive interview and I’d get the job!!  Nope.  Great interview, but did not get it.  Discouraged and still so confused about these yellow butterflies I went home.  A few days later, I had another interview at another school in town.  I walked DJ to school that morning and sure enough, there was “ole yellow” following me home.  I talked to it, (like a crazy person), asking it what it was trying to tell me!!!!

I got to my interview and sat on the bench outside of the principal’s office.  Waiting patiently for my turn.  I was looking around the office, taking it all in, when I looked up over the door where the interview would be taking place.  There, over the door, bigger than I could span my arms, was an enormous yellow cellophane butterfly hanging. I could not help but smile, lose all nervousness and walk into that office filled with confidence.  It was the best interview I had ever had – and sure enough, I got the job!  Now almost seven years later, I have never been happier in a teaching job.  I still see yellow butterflies around.  Not as often, but they are around, and now they just fill me with joy, knowing how that yellow butterfly led me on a journey that has brought me to a place where I love to work, love the staff and love the community.  When one flutters by me now, I just smile.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Yellow Butterflies

  1. creativityorcrazy July 30, 2013 at 11:21 am Reply

    This was great and so glad you found a teaching job that makes you happy. I’m trying to figure out what my butterflies mean. Like you, I think they are more than just mere coincidence. I’ve seen a solitary yellow butterfly every day for a week now. Never in the same spot. There are so many things they could probably mean in my life right now. My husband has been ill for some time now and is on hospice. I wrote about it in my journal, though I said it could mean absolutely nothing, I just have a feeling….there’s something more to the butterflies.

    • clairesinclair July 30, 2013 at 1:38 pm Reply

      I still see them everywhere – not sure exactly what they are telling me, but they make me think happy thoughts when one flies by, so that at least is good!! I am sure there is something to the significance. I wish I had an answer for you as well. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  2. Marivic July 14, 2016 at 12:00 pm Reply

    Both me and my husband are seeing them a lot lately. We are thinking of positive messages with regards to seeing the yellow butterfly, the other day on my way to walk our dog, it flew right in front of me .
    thank you for sharing your experience.Sending you our thoughts of happiness and more LOVE.

    • clairesinclair July 14, 2016 at 1:33 pm Reply

      It was a funny coincidence that you commented on this old post today. I had just had a discussion with a coworker about this!! I hadn’t talked about it in quite some time and he told me a story about seeing monarch butterflies after his mom passed away. I told him this story…..haven’t talked about it in a long time so to see your comment….I took that as a “sign” too!

Leave a Reply

