Being Thankful

be thankful

A friend of mine posted this on her Facebook page today and it gave me my idea for my blog.

Sometimes I have to step back and remind myself of this.  I often find myself wanting more, and wishing for things – bigger and better.  Materialistic things.  Things I really don’t need, but just want.  A bigger house, another bathroom, an extra bedroom…  All things I really don’t need, but I just feel like would make my life more convenient and easier.  I wish for times that I didn’t have to worry every time I went out for a meal, or buy myself something new to wear.   I wish that I could give my kids things like vacations and camps that other kids have.

But then, quotes like this put things into perspective.  Will I ever be satisfied with just “stuff”?  I have two healthy boys, a happy marriage, a safe, warm home, a close knit family, a job that I love, friends who mean the world to me….my list of what I have really could go on and on.  I know that I will still want for more, and wish that I had things that I long for, but I really do already have so much – so why?

I have a friend going through a very rough time right now.  This woman, is one of the strongest women I know and with everything going on in her life, she still shows her strength throughout it all.  I found a quote yesterday that I shared with her, and it goes right along with this whole idea:

“Possessions are worse than worthless — they’re harmful. They add no value to your life, and cost you everything. Not just the money required to buy them, but the time and money spent shopping for them, maintaining them, worrying about them, insuring them, fixing them, etc.”

and so, I need to take the time and count my  blessings.  I am admitting that I will still have times that I want for more!  I will try though.  I will take into consideration all that I do have, and when I do happen to get things I really NEED rather than want, I will accept them with gratitude and be content with what I have been given.

Admittedly, this will be hard for me – but I will try.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

