Rainbows and Dreams

rainbow

I was hoping that I’d be able to post, “Day 2 with no headaches”, but no such luck.  I did get two of them today.  Fortunately, neither were too bad, I just wish it had lasted.  It frustrated me though.  Unrelated to the headaches, I had to make a call to my endocrinologist regarding a medication that I needed to refill and an appointment that I needed to reschedule.  After an exasperating call to the receptionist, where we just could not find a convenient time for me to get there with our conflicting schedules, led to them being unable to refill my prescription without a visit, I nearly burst into tears on the phone.  I think the receptionist realized this, as she became much kinder as she agreed to speak to the doctor so that she could make this work for me.  As I hung up, all I wanted to do was to call my mom.  She always had the answer, or solution…I even wanted her to call back for me to take care of it all, like I was still her little girl.  Fortunately, a few hours later, the receptionist called back and we were able to figure out a time that worked as well as a way to get the prescription refilled in the meantime.  Maybe mom heard me wishing for her help!!

I had sent a text message to my dad today asking him if he wanted to join us for dinner.  We were going to take advantage of a special offer at “Famous Dave’s”, a restaurant Dave and the boys really enjoy.  Most nights, Dave or I will make dinner and if there are no sports schedules interfering, we try to invite my dad or brothers along to join us.  The last few weeks have been so busy, we haven’t been able to do it as often.  So it was nice to hear that he’d be able to join us.

We had a nice meal together and as we left we all noticed the beautiful sky.  The sun shining through the clouds was spectacular!  I told the kids that I wondered if that is what Heaven looked like.  The rays of the sun were shining through gaps in the clouds and just made me gasp at the beauty of it.  Even the kids smiled at the thought that maybe it was grandma looking down at us.  Just a few minutes later, as we got closer to home, a beautiful rainbow appeared in the sky.  Dave drove slowly so that I could try to get some photos, but I only had my cell phone, so they just could not do the beauty of it any justice.  The closer we got to home, the brighter the rainbow became and it was a complete arc.  We pulled over at the park down the street from our home and I tried to get another photo.  There were people out on the streets trying to photograph it.  It was just so spectacular.  We pulled into our driveway and suddenly, there were two!  A double rainbow!  It was like a painting right out of nature.  It was completely mesmerizing.

I have been told that rainbows are a symbol of good luck…I can only hope that this is true.  I don’t know if I have written about it before, but Dave has been out of work for quite some time now.  He is a great stay-at-home dad, and has tried finding work in several fields but nothing has really panned out for him.  Recently he has been talking with a mortgage company and is now in the process of taking a few courses that will get him the proper licenses that he will need in order to hopefully get some work!!  Today was only the second day – and that double rainbow has me crossing my fingers that maybe this is his good luck sign just like the yellow butterflies are mine!  https://aprojectforkindness.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/yellow-butterflies/

My mom had a favorite movie, “The Wizard of Oz”, and now I cannot help wondering if she heard me asking her for her help today and is up there watching over us, sending us a sign that everything is going to be okay…

Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
There’s a land that I’ve heard of once in a lullaby.
Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream,
Really do come true.

IMG_8621e

When double rainbows appear it means that whatever is coming to you has great meaning in your life and that one good thing will lead to another good thing. I really rejoice in your happiness and good fortune. The rainbows are a sign from the cosmic universe that you are about to have something great fall into your lap!
Lillian Too of Feng Shui Malaysia – See more at: http://www.lunamusika.com/blog/?p=3616#sthash.lHdyA3qd.dpuf
Somewhere over the rainbow
Skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true – See more at: http://www.lunamusika.com/blog/?p=3616#sthash.lHdyA3qd.dpuf
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Rainbows and Dreams

  1. dale gianni June 11, 2013 at 11:28 pm Reply

    amazing claire…and i really do believe it too….funny all the coincidences,…don’t know if u remember, but when bella was being born; there were complications…J and J lived in San Francisco and it was “rainy season”…it had been non stop rain for the longest time, everyday!!! They had to take bella by caesarian; and as we were all waiting patiently (not really), jason and i took a walk down the hall and looked out the window to SUNSHINE and a bright RAINBOW!!!! It was truly unreal!!
    so, yes claire, mom was watching and for Dave (who is the best Mr Mom), he too will find his rainbow, or already had with the 2nd one…gr8 picture btw…
    i pray you feel better soon…and that u will have nothing but sunshine , lollipops, and rainbows always!!

  2. clairesinclair June 12, 2013 at 4:52 am Reply

    Love you Aunt Dale 🙂

Leave a Reply

