Life Moves Pretty Fast

ferris

Do you ever have “one of those days”?  Where it just seems like you can’t quite catch up with how fast everything is moving?  It is the end of the school year and this is such an overwhelming time.  The students are feeling it, the teachers are feeling it…we all are.  It was just a long, long day – getting to work at 7:30 and not getting home till 5:30.  Answering emails and messages all day for my own children, between teaching and taking care of my other 22 kids (students), during the day.

I just felt like I could not keep up with time today.  Each time I looked at my watch, there was somewhere else I needed to be, leaving behind something else that needed to be completed – now all piling up to my “tomorrow list”.   I joked with a fellow Kindergarten teacher today, as she told me about all of the “lists” she has begun to write for herself.  She too, has two children of her own and like, me, is just trying to keep up with their schedules as well as our own.   My problem with making up “to do lists”, is that I keep losing them in my piles of things to do!!

It has made me feel grumpy today.  That grumpiness, (along with more rain and another headache), is not helping me accomplish my “to do list” either.  The printer – that decided to stop working on a night I need it desperately, has made me procrastinate on something I should be doing for work, and instead come and write my blog.  Writing it always helps my mood.  Sometimes finding things to write about is not easy, but when I finally find something that I think would be interesting enough for others to read, and I begin to write, my mood does change.

Happiness is a choice.  Just like being cranky and grumpy is.  I have to be the one who makes that choice.  So now, as I sit and think about the happy parts of my day, I am beginning to realize there were a lot of them.  Lunch with my Kindergarten Team is never short of laughs.  It is one of my favorite parts of my day and today was no different.  There are the hugs and love from my Kindergarteners, (never a shortage of those), all day long. Cooking dinner for the four of us and actually sitting down to eat together – which we have not been able to have in awhile due to sports and other meetings and commitments, was really nice tonight.   I found some great photos of the Muck Fest I participated in this weekend online, bringing back memories of a great day with friends.  Now that I am writing, I realize there were many more happy parts of my day than unhappy ones.  I just chose to perseverate on the bad ones, putting me in a bad mood, but now, my mood has turned around.  I can get back to that assignment I needed to complete for work. I can save it on a flash drive and print it at work.  It is not as big of a deal as I am making it out to be.  No need to let the negative stuff engulf me.

Choosing to find the happy parts of my day has made me sit back, smile, relax and realize that it will all get done.  It always does.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Life Moves Pretty Fast

  1. judiesjuice June 18, 2013 at 8:19 pm Reply

    Change your thoughts, change your life. Some wise person said that!

  2. clairesinclair June 18, 2013 at 9:10 pm Reply

    It works Judie!! Thinking positive thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

