Brain Break

rest

There are some days, that I think we just need to take a brain break!  A short time to relax and recharge.  This afternoon, I came home from work, (half day job for the summer), with plenty of plans to get “stuff” done.  I had phone calls to make, grocery shopping to do, vacuuming, organizing…the list could go on and on.  It is a dreary afternoon with the sky darkening, as a summer storm seems to be closing in.  The living room is dark and cozy.  The air conditioners are on so it is cool and comfortable.  Drew has fallen asleep on the couch.  I will let him sleep and skip the grocery store.  I made one of my “important” calls already – Emmy Lou’s vet appointment has been set up for next week.  DJ is watching television.  He did the few things I asked him to do while I was at work and made lunch for Drew and himself.   He deserves a brain break too.

There are  piles to go through in different areas of the house.  I got through the ones on the living room table and the desk.  I cannot vacuum while Drew is asleep.  That can wait.

I never take naps – there never seems to be enough time in the day, but today, as I look around the house and realize that the mess is not going anywhere, I have decided to take a brain break.  I do this with my students all of the time.  So instead of dwelling on all of the things that I need to get to, I will throw a load of laundry in the wash and get on the couch and just do NOTHING,  I will follow Drew’s lead and take a rest and spend some time  just being lazy.  Then, I can get back to reality just in time to throw the laundry in the dryer and get Drew to his baseball game on time!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

