Love Letters

good kid

Today, while I was pondering ideas about what I should write today’s blog about, an old post came across my Facebook feed.  It was from several years ago.  It was about a 6 year old girl who was dying of cancer who left love notes all over her home for her family to find after she died.

This sweet story was so touching, I have been thinking about it all day and I am not sure why I only saw it for the first time today, but it was quite a coincidence because this morning, as I was cleaning out a junk drawer, I came across a “love note” that Drew wrote me a few years ago.  One of his favorite books was, Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.  He seems to have borrowed a line from it but other than that… the words are all his own, (writing has never been his strong point, but that is what makes me love it even more.)

Here is what his letter says…(in his own words):

To, mom

I love you forever as long as I’m living my Drewy I’ll be

No matter what happens, I’d love to have you for whatever happens.

Even when I die my soul will still love you and if we get separated

I’ll still love you.

Even if the mom bakes amazing desserts. 

I’ll still love you.

From, Drew

I don’t get love notes very often anymore, but nights like tonight, when just the two of us are home and he chooses to sit on the couch and watch a movie with me  rather than doing something on his own, are almost as good!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

