Dance

dance

“There are no mistakes, only unexpected solos”.

I saw this quote today at a Zumba studio near my home.  I was taking a class, not Zumba, but a Nia class. I had never heard of Nia until recently. “Nia is a sensory-based movement practice that draws from martial arts, dance arts and healing arts. It empowers people of all shapes and sizes by connecting the body, mind, emotions and spirit.  Nia choreography is body-centered and allows practitioners to connect to nine diverse movement styles: Tai Chi, Tae Kwon Do, Aikido, jazz dance, modern dance, Duncan dance, yoga, Alexander Technique and Teachings of Moshe Feldenkrais.”

Anyone who knows me know that I am NOT a dancer.  I am not sure what I was thinking when I went in there today, but the Tai Chi and Tae Kwon Do parts intrigued me.  Maybe because I love kickboxing so much??  I have done a bit of Pilates in the past so I thought it might tie it all together.  The teacher, Bernadette came into the room.  Graceful, beautifully sculpted and toned and right away I thought, “uhoh…what am I getting myself into?”  She gave me an overview of what Nia is and told me I could go at my own pace.  Being a brand new class, I wound up being the only person taking it!  Even more pressure!

She walked me through the steps of Nia and we began.  I was self conscious at first, watching myself in the mirror, trying to move my body like she was.  Her elegant moves versus my awkward, clumsiness.  She made me so comfortable though!  Within ten minutes of the class, I found myself moving in ways I never realized my body would let me move!  I even began to feel a bit graceful!.

By the end of the class, I found myself wising that it were longer.  I am trying to figure out when I can go again!!  I want to convince my “non-dancing” friends that if I can do this…they all can!  Which brings me back to the quote, I was free to move in ways that my body allowed me to.  It didn’t matter if I could master a movement or do it as gracefully as Bernadette did.  There is even a part of the class that is called, “Free Dance” which at first seemed the most intimidating, but in the end, was the part that allowed me to actually explore the limits my body could handle.  My very first solo – even if it was for an audience of only one!

Leave a Reply

