Hurried Woman Syndrome

doing it all

Do you ever have one of those days – or weeks – when you feel completely overwhelmed?  This is one of those weeks for me.  I am not sure if it is it not having enough time to do all that I need to do,  or just having too much to do?  Too many commitments and responsibilities?   Whatever it is…I am feeling it.  I am not alone.  I know this.  I feel like I am literally burning the candle at both ends – and I don’t want to burn out!!!

I just read that there is a name for this, “The Hurried Woman Syndrome.”   Before tonight, I never heard of this but there are many books and internet sites that talk about this!  Some of the symptoms for this are; a constant feeling of tiredness, frequent mood swings, lack of sleep and problems controlling weight.  It is estimated that nearly 30 million woman a year suffer from these symptoms!  Now, I don’t think I actually have something that I would actually call a “syndrome”…but I sure am feeling some of these symptoms this week!!  But don’t most women get to this point once in awhile?

Was this “syndrome” even around twenty years ago?  Are women taking on too much?  Do we really do so much more than our own mother’s did?  I remember days when my mom needed to take a break.  She did not work outside of the home, yet she was a very busy, very active stay at home mom raising four kids, getting us to and from all of our activities, taking care of the house, preparing all of the meals….the list could go on and on.  Did she get tired, overwhelmed, have mood swings….of course she did.  I guess there is just a name for it now – like there is for everything else nowadays.

he symptoms are easy to detect: constant feeling of tiredness, frequent mood swings, lack of sleep, problems in controlling weight and low sex drive – See more at: http://www.boloji.com/index.cfm?md=Content&sd=Articles&ArticleID=2722#sthash.HrxylpQT.dpuf
he symptoms are easy to detect: constant feeling of tiredness, frequent mood swings, lack of sleep, problems in controlling weight and low sex drive – See more at: http://www.boloji.com/index.cfm?md=Content&sd=Articles&ArticleID=2722#sthash.HrxylpQT.dpuf
he symptoms are easy to detect: constant feeling of tiredness, frequent mood swings, lack of sleep, problems in controlling weight and low sex drive – See more at: http://www.boloji.com/index.cfm?md=Content&sd=Articles&ArticleID=2722#sthash.HrxylpQT.dpuf

So many of us need to slow down, but where do we find that time?  I make sure that I find a bit of time each day for exercise.  Whether it is first thing in the morning when I go for a four mile walk with a friend, or take a class in the evening, that one hour is a release of some of the day’s stresses.  As often as we can, we try to make the time to all sit down and eat dinner together during the week.  Writing my blog is another good time for me to wind down.  It allows me to take a breather from school work, house work and everything else.  It has been over 300 days that I have taken a time out to write.  I did not think I’d be able to stick to my goal, but so far, I have done it.  Even now, after spending the time to write, I have already felt myself relax and calm down after a long, demanding day.

So for all of you out there – women AND men who are feeling hurried, take some time for yourselves and relax.  Take a breath and find some time for yourself.  It really helps!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

