Advent

sharing the holiday

Today is the first day of Advent.  For those who celebrate, it is a time of waiting and preparation for the celebration Christmas.  For many families, this day brings out a special advent calendar.  Although Advent can begin as early as November 27 or as late as December 3, Advent calendars usually begin on December 1.  This year, the first day of Advent actually falls on the first day of December.   There are so many different types of Advent calendars.  The one we grew up with was made by my mom.  It looked like a large red, felt banner with a large green Christmas tree on it.  Underneath the tree were 24 pockets.  In each pocket was a cute little Christmas ornament that you pinned on the tree.  My sister, brothers and I loved waking up each morning and waiting for each other to pull out the ornament that we’d add to the tree each day.  Even after each of us moved out, my mom still put it up each year and she and my dad would do it each morning.  Even their cleaning lady, Linda, got in on it!  I think she got more of a thrill out of it than any of us did!  This year, my dad and Linda pulled it out of the closet and had it ready for today.

After DJ was born, my mom bought us our own.  It looks a lot like the one we grew up with.  Drew and DJ will place an ornament on the tree each morning leading up till Christmas.  I know many of my friends have their own versions of Advent calendars.  Some of them have little pieces of chocolate inside each window, others give little trinkets or toys as they open up each day.   Whatever kind it is, it is a reminder of the holiday season – my absolute favorite time of the year.

This morning, I came across a really special idea for an Advent calendar. I think I am going to add it to ours and make it a new tradition.  I got it from a link on “100 Days of Real Food.”  She was inspired by another blogger who wrote, “The Giving Jar.”  They list 24 things that you can do during Advent.  Both have great ideas of varying levels of what you can do.  For my family, I think the “100 Days” list is more practical.  The link will take you to hers. I have posted the list from “The Giving Jar” at the end of today’s blog.  Giving instead of getting.  Perfect for my blog!!  Some of the ideas won’t work for our family, so I am going to try to come up with some of my own.  I am looking forward to choosing a task each day as we pin our ornaments on the tree.  It will be a great reminder that this is not just the season for receiving but for giving.

I am grateful that I saw this post today.  I am so excited to start a new tradition with my family.  Here is the list from The Giving Jar – edit it to suit your family.  Have a wonderful holiday season!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

