Pope Francis

pope quote

I am a Catholic.  I grew up going to church every Sunday with my family.  I continued to go after I was married, often alone because Dave, (who spent all of his years through seventh grade attending Catholic School,) had a lot of misgivings about the church.  I have had my own doubts as well and there are many things that I do not agree with regarding the church.  I still go nearly every week.  My own children rarely attend either and it is hard to “make” them go when both of us don’t agree on it.

I am not making this post about the Catholic Church and all that I think could be changed, BUT, I absolutely adore our new Pope and today, when he was named “Time Magazine’s Person of the Year,” I was extremely happy.  There are so many things that I like about this man.  A man who I think is going to make some big changes in the Catholic church.  A man, who wants to continue to live within his simple, humble means. He did not even want to move into the papal palace and continues to drive his old car.

When I heard that he is “sneaks out” in plain clothes to minister to the homeless, I nearly cried.  The minute I saw him putting his arms around a man with Neurofibromatosis, a genetic disorder my family has, I was convinced this man was the pope for me!!  He even has a Twitter account!

pope nf

He seems so much like a “regular person.”  A sports fan and a bouncer as one of his previous jobs. He gets silly with the public.  He seems ready to modify the traditional views of the church – which is exactly what I have though we have needed for years!  He has acknowledged same sex marriages and divorce and it seems to me, that he realizes that it is time for the church to make some changes.  He has even said the Catholic church had no right to “interfere spiritually” in the lives of gay men and women

pope nose

I was so happy to hear that it was he who was named as The Person of the Year.  With so many people out there who are making a big name for themselves, (not always positively,) I was glad to see that it was someone who might actually being creating a positive change.  Thank you Pope Francis.  Continue what you are doing, because it seems that you are making a lot of people sit back and rethink our religion.  I know I am!

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Pope Francis

  1. Alli Joseph December 12, 2013 at 2:49 pm Reply

    I like him too, and I think he’s doing wonders for the Catholic church – though I am not Catholic. An image update was necessary, and what better figure to do it than a new Pope focused on #kindness.

    • clairesinclair December 12, 2013 at 5:29 pm Reply

      Yup! I think it will bring more goodness to our world. At least I hope so!

Leave a Reply

