Comfort Zone

comfort zone

How often do you go outside of your comfort zone?  If you asked me this question even a year ago, I’d say hardly ever!  I am a person that gets set in my routines and I like it that way!  I am happy and secure in my own “zone.”  Unfortunately, being in my own zone caused me to get lazy in some areas.  I have often written about kickboxing and how much I love it and I stuck to it for three years!  When I began taking classes there, it was a big step out of my comfort zone but in the end, it made me a stronger and more confident person.  In the last few months, I noticed that I began to get lazy.  I found myself doing the minimum and not working out as hard as I should have.  Even though I still loved going, I did not push myself hard enough and I wasn’t seeing results.  This doesn’t mean I am done with Kickboxing.  I actually think I will miss it too much so I am sure I will go back.

So to change it up this year, I decided to venture FAR beyond my comfort zone.  I have been taking classes at a new place in town, Viva Z.  When I first heard of it, I thought it was strictly Zumba classes – which I felt weren’t for me because I am not a dancer, but then I saw the schedule and noticed a lot of variety in the classes.

I started small, with a Barre Class and moved onto a class called, Nia.  The first day, I felt so awkward and uncoordinated but now, (even though I probably still am,) I don’t care!  I dance as if no one is watching me.  I have brought friends along and introduced it to them.  I have also tried a class there called, Hot Hula Fitnessss® which is a class that is inspired by the dances of the Pacific Islands.  We use dance movements set to the sounds of traditional Polynesian drum beats fused with Reggae music.  This is SOOOOO not me, but I tried it and I’ve gone back a few times to do it again.  Tonight I tried Belly Dancing and had to laugh as I watched myself dance in the mirror.  I was really anxious about this class, not knowing what to expect but now, I cannot wait to go back and do it again.

This weekend, a friend encouraged me to try a class at a different place called Pound – exercising to music using drum sticks and I loved it!  A few months ago I tried a Spinning class.  It wasn’t my favorite, but I won’t say I would not try it again.  I am trying to embrace these new experiences but not to stress myself out and if I don’t love it, I will just move on to something different.

One of my goals for the new year is to to push myself to go beyond my comfort level.  I have read that pushing yourself outside of your comfort zone can lead to an easier time adjusting to new situations.  It can make you more productive and it harnesses creativity.   The goal is to do this in many areas of my life, not just exercising  – I have to see where it takes me!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Comfort Zone

  1. Meg Evans January 7, 2014 at 7:25 pm Reply

    Good for you, Claire! The more we challenge ourselves, the more we find that we’re able to do. I’m impressed by your energy and dedication in blogging regularly about kindness for the past year! For 2014 I’ve resolved to visit and comment on a new blog about kindness and positivity every day, while keeping a list on my blog to help my readers find positive blogs. “A Project for Kindness” is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing your cheerful optimism with the world.

    • clairesinclair January 7, 2014 at 9:42 pm Reply

      Thank you so much! I look forward to watching your blog as well!! Happy New Year to you!!

Leave a Reply

