Brrrrrrrr!

cold

If you are reading this and live in most parts of The USA, then you are probably experiencing the extreme cold today!  Here in Maplewood, New Jersey the temperatures dropped to 3 degrees and the wind chill factor made it feel like -15!  For many parts of the US right now, that is on the warmer side!!  I almost feel guilty complaining when I hear how cold it is in other areas of the country.  We are just not used to it.  I cannot remember it ever being this cold.  The last time I remember temperatures this cold, we were visiting Montreal. It was February 1993 and we were going to The NHL All-Star Game.  The cold was so extreme, that it made our eyes and noses run and it FROZE to our face!!  That is how cold it felt here today!

I don’t like Winter weather on a typical day so this is very unpleasant for me.  I have to count my blessings though.  My house is warm, my power is on, the pipes aren’t frozen.  I have heard so many people that aren’t so lucky!

Fortunately for me, when I do have to go out, I don’t have to be outside for long.  I can jump into my car in the driveway and be at school in under three minutes.  My heat doesn’t even have time to warm up in the car.  I ran right into my building and was out in the cold for less than a minute going and coming from work.  I don’t know how people who work outside these days can manage.  I cringe as I watch firefighters, police officers and public service people working in it.  I am so concerned for homeless people.  I know that there are shelters offering housing and I pray that they are taking advantage of it.  That worries me so much.

I am hearing that these drastic temperatures will not last for long, but it is only January and there are still many more days of winter ahead!  Stay warm and safe!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

