Bridal Shower

bridal shower

Today I am going to a bridal shower for my good friend and coworker Stef.  It is not a surprise, so I can write this before going!!

Her mom and bridesmaids have put a lot of time and effort into making this shower flawless and I am sure it is going to be beautiful. I am going with some of my other coworkers and it will be so nice to be out with them in a social setting rather than a working one.

I realized this morning, that Stef, (who was born the year I graduated from college,) would have started Kindergarten the year that I began TEACHING Kindergarten!!  I was 23.  I had just gotten married myself.  I remember my own bridal shower so clearly.  It was a complete surprise.  My bridesmaids, who did not all live in New Jersey, had all come in for the weekend, so I knew it was going to be that weekend, but it was not at all the way I had expected it to happen.  I had assumed my mom and sister had planned something for later in the day.  We had a big lunch all set up so of course I thought it was going to be then.  The family who’s daughter was my flower girl had asked me to help set up for a morning brunch for her parents’ 50th Wedding Anniversary.  Since it was early so I decided to go – fully expecting that I’d come home, get dressed and pretend to be surprised when they took me for lunch.

That’s why when I went to help set up for the “anniversary party,” I went in my pajamas, no makeup, hair up in a messy ponytail and I wore my glasses rather than my contacts. My mom always said that’s when she knew I had no idea that I was on my way to my own shower!!   I hated going out without contacts in but it was so early, I did not want to go through the hassle figuring no one would see me but the kids.  I got to the reception hall, fully expecting to help set up but instead, walked into a room filled with people who were there to celebrate ME!  My mom, in her typical fashion was laughing and was just so happy that she had pulled this off.  I was flabbergasted, embarrassed, elated and truly beside myself with emotions!  In retrospect, I wish she had at least brought my contacts for me to slip in quickly.  Thank goodness this was all before social media.  There are plenty of photos, but all of them are stored in a box in the basement.  I can look back at them and see all of my loved ones who came to celebrate with me that day.  I can see my mom and the pride and joy in her eyes and family and relatives who are no longer with us – but thankfully, there is no record of those photos anywhere on the internet!  Even though it was one of the happiest days, I am happy keeping the pictures safely stored in my mind and in that box in the basement!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

