Witnessing History

hatred Nelson Mandela

As I sit and listen to all this nonsense, (in my opinion) about “allowing” homosexuals the same rights as heterosexuals, I find myself shaking my head in disbelief.  I mentioned to my sons today that I feel like we are witnessing history as it is happening.  We are living in a time that years from now, people will be writing about and saying, “I can’t believe that ever happened.”  When I teach my students about segregation and about amazing people like Martin Luther King Jr. and Ruby Bridges they look at me with amazement because they can’t imagine not being in a school with children of all races and ethnicities.

Maybe in a few years down the road, it will be the same regarding same sex couples .  How wonderful would it be if children can grow up in a world where they can think, “I can’t believe that every happened…”

I have written several times about the amazing town that I live in.  Maplewood, NJ is a special place.  Steven Goldstein of Garden State Equality, once called Maplewood, “the ‘peak’ of the state’s most gay-friendly residential ‘corridor,’ stretching through a swath of western Essex County.”  Here in Maplewood, we are already on the right path.  With such diversity in our town, our students don’t even realize there is anything unusual about each another.  It is just the norm – and that is the way it should be.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Witnessing History

  1. Professions for PEACE February 26, 2014 at 9:35 pm Reply

    Excellent post! I love it and agree completely, and look forward to a time when topics of diversity become a ‘non-issue’ because they are so commonplace. That is how I am with people in my world of all colours and orientations, sizes and ages. And whether they are right or left-handed for that matter! I care about a person’s character, not who they wish to marry. I only wish them happiness.
    Thanks for this celebration of the eradication of marginalization! 🙂
    Cheers, Gina

    • clairesinclair February 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm Reply

      Exactly Gina!!! You said it so well. A non-issue is exactly whet it should be!!

Leave a Reply

