Willing #FMF

willing

I am really enjoying these Five Minute Friday posts.  They are great for days when I am wondering what I should write about, or when I find my time is limited.  Today’s word is WILLING.  A tough one I thought at first, but I have five minutes.  I can do this…

Start:

This quote says it perfectly.  I don’t want to be known as ordinary.  It took me a long time to be willing to take risks.  I liked things to go as usual.  I was a creature of habit and routine.  Then, I started this “little blog.”  A blog I never expected many to read.  A blog that was my outlet when my mom got sick.  A blog that had the original intention of spreading kindness and inspiring others to be kind.

Fourteen months later, it is so much more.  I was not sure if I was willing or able to keep it up for the year.   I did….and last weekend had an extraordinary day of having 11,000 people read it! That took me completely out of my comfort zone.  Instead of just relishing in the thought that people might want to read it, I instead thought something was wrong with the counter and it could not have been accurate!  I still need to work on that, my confidence.

I have taken more risks since I started writing.  Could it be the blog that has given me confidence?  Maybe it is the coaching group I attend weekly.  That has built up my self esteem tremendously and has given me the courage to write about it often.  The difficult year our family endured last year with the loss of mom and Francine was unlike anything I have ever experienced.  Perhaps it is a combination of all these things – but I have noticed that I have been willing to do so much more and step out of my comfort zone and I think I am becoming a better person because of that.

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Willing #FMF

  1. wisdomfromafather March 7, 2014 at 5:00 pm Reply

    Visiting as your FMF neighbor. Yes, these five minute exercises are challenging, but when you see what comes from them, it’s, well, amazing. I enjoy reading what others have to say on the prompt. Often I get an entirely different perspective and I am always enriched. Your nugget exemplifies the prompt word … willing to take a chance … willing to share your thoughts … willing to expand beyond your walls. Great job!

    • clairesinclair March 7, 2014 at 5:01 pm Reply

      Thanks so much. The best part of FMF is finding new bloggers to follow and read!! I look forward to my Fridays!

Leave a Reply

