Crowd

nerves

It is Friday.  Another Five Minute Friday blogging day. A good day for a five minute blog because it is one of those busy days we all have now and then, and I am not sure when I will find the time to sit and write today if I don’t do it now.

Today’s word is CROWD:

Growing up, I was petrified to speak in front of large crowds.  I took everything in  me to just stand up in class and read aloud to the rest of them. My teachers would prompt and plead with me to “speak up” and raise my hand more.  It was always written as a comment on my report cards.  It lasted through college.  Presentations were so difficult.  It took all I could muster to just get up in front of all of them.

Many people who know me now, might be surprised to hear this, because today, I am quite different.  Although I might feel butterflies right before I have to speak in front of a large crowd, I actually have begun to enjoy it.  Maybe it is nearly twenty years of practice in front of a classroom.  Although, an audience of children is far less intimidating than one of my peers…most of the time!!

I had assumed that getting up to speak at my mother’s funeral as I read her eulogy was going to be nearly impossible for me.  Yet, as I stood in front a packed church in front of hundreds of mourners, I saw faces, filled with compassion and all of those fears left me.   I actually made it through the whole thing without my nerves getting the best of me.  When my voice began breaking towards the end, it wasn’t because of nerves, but because of the incredible love that was radiating through the church.  I know that my mom would have been proud.

Tagged: , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Crowd

  1. Tonya Salomons March 14, 2014 at 7:41 am Reply

    Oh she would have been friend… What a beautiful post about overcoming fears…

  2. graceglimmers March 14, 2014 at 8:39 am Reply

    Super honest and great post about fear…forgetting…and forgiving ourselves. Happy unbirthday and Friday!

  3. bizigal March 14, 2014 at 11:44 am Reply

    Love, love your 5 min Friday blogs. Thanks for the love and encouragement!

  4. Ashley Ditto March 14, 2014 at 1:11 pm Reply

    Beautiful writing! Brought such encouragement to my heart.

  5. Ruth March 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm Reply

    Bless you. Weeks like this, and anniversaries can be tough to navigate. We’ve just had a run of it at work here too, just losing a very cherished colleague, and suddenly too. One lady was speaking in a meeting this morning and choked up as she read a Bible verse: Ps 49.15 ‘But God will redeem me from the realm of the dead; he will surely take me to himself.’ It was the overwhelming comfort of this verse that stopped her in her tracks, and I think that pause caused us all to be touched by it too. Sometimes those ‘moments’ when we have to gather our emotions while speaking publicly can be the most powerful. Thanks for sharing so honestly in this post – it’s precious. xRuth

Leave a Reply

