A RAK for me!

booker t washington

For Lent this year, I decided that I was going to do a Random Act of Kindness everyday for the entire Lenten period.  It is day 14 and I am still on track!   I have been trying to be anonymous when I do some of them – leaving little treats at work, for coworkers, so I am not sure of the reaction they are getting, but my hope is that it brightens the day of the person who receives it.

I have also brought some sweets and treats to friends.  Two of them were teachers at Viva Z, where I take classes.  Tonight, they took me completely by surprise when they gave me a bouquet of beautiful roses before class.  They told me it was a random act of kindness for me!  It made me feel so special.  That is my hope when I am giving out my own RAK everyday.  I hope that the person who gets one from me, knows that someone was thinking of them and that it makes them feel good and inspires them to do something kind for someone else in return.

This is the idea behind the project Roberta, (our school librarian) and I had when we began our Pay It Forward Program at school.  The kindness is already spreading!  There is a lot of excitement among the students and the parents seem to be responding positively.  It is so exciting watching the kindness grow!

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “A RAK for me!

  1. bizigal March 19, 2014 at 8:49 pm Reply

    This is such a wonderful article. I love the idea. I feel like a RAK is better to give than to receive anyway. God will love it. I would love to hear more about your “pay it forward program” at school. Maybe our school could use it.

    • clairesinclair March 19, 2014 at 8:51 pm Reply

      Sure!! It is only day three…as it goes along and seems to be working positively, I’d love to share it with you! Stay in touch and I will give you more information!! Where are you located?

  2. Meg Evans March 20, 2014 at 7:44 pm Reply

    Awesome! I am sure it brightens their day. 🙂

    • clairesinclair March 20, 2014 at 7:47 pm Reply

      Meg, it has been great so far. The kids are showing such excitement for it!!

Leave a Reply

