A Reason to be Happy

do what makes you happy

Not only is today the first day of Spring, but it is also the 2nd Annual International Day of Happiness. A day that recognizes that happiness is a fundamental human goal, and calls upon countries to approach public policies in ways that improve the well being of all people.  I wonder if it is a coincidence that it falls on the first day of Spring because I know that after this long, cold, dreary winter, I am very happy – more than happy…ecstatic I might even say!

#Internationaldayofhappiness and #happyfirstdayofspring have been trending all day on Twitter.  I didn’t realize it was International Day of Happiness until I got home from work today and saw it on the news.  Yet…all day, I was happy!!  I know it was because of Spring.  It was only about 50 degrees but I went to school dressed in pink – very “springy” and refused to wear socks or boots just to say, “Haha winter!  We made it and now we are done with you!”  I am trying to ignore the forecasters who are predicting snow next week.  I am not going to ruin my happiness day with those thoughts!

Today, my day started off happy, not just waking up knowing it was Spring, but when one of my students greeted me with a beautiful purple plant and a card that read, “HAPPY SPRING MRS. SINCLAIR!”  Tonight Drew and I are making homemade pizzas for dinner making us both very happy and are in our pajamas before 6 pm even more reason to be happy!  I love happy days.  We should celebrate this day more than once a year!!

So…..what makes you happy??

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

