#FMF Paint

play mr rogers

It is Friday.  Another Link Up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.  The day were a group of bloggers come together to write, for five minutes about the same word.  Five minutes is all we are allowed.  No editing.  Just writing from the heart.

o now on Fridays a group of people who love to throw caution to the wind and just write without worrying if it’s just right gather to share what five minutes buys them. Just five minutes. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/#sthash.gD7vugWO.dpuf
o now on Fridays a group of people who love to throw caution to the wind and just write without worrying if it’s just right gather to share what five minutes buys them. Just five minutes. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/#sthash.gD7vugWO.dpuf

Today’s word is PAINT

Paint?!?!  What could I ever write about paint?  My house is in dire need of being painted.  I have the colors chosen now to get the money to do it!!  But five minutes to spend on the color I want to paint my house?  Definitely not going to happen.

Paint. Painting.  I wish there was more time to do it in Kindergarten.  With the rigors of the curriculum, squeezing in that “fun stuff” gets more and more difficult.  I have an easel in my room and plenty of paint in a cupboard.  The fifteen minutes I have carved into each day  for playtime, is barely enough time for Legos and blocks never-less paint and sand.  Paint has been pushed to the wayside.  We take out our water colors now and then for “Crafty Thursday” but colorful, messy, big paper, big brush painting just doesn’t get to happen anymore in my classroom.  There were so many days in the past that I’d come home with paint on my clothes and under my fingernails.  Not anymore.

Do the kids miss it?  Maybe.  Do I miss the mess?  Not really, but I do miss the creations that used to be displayed around my room.   The creativity still flows in my classroom. I have a “Creation Station” with dot paint and craft supplies and when it is open for free play, it is one of the most popular places in the room.  I want to work in more time for them to paint and create – the challenge is where to find it in our days already filled with all of the academics!  We need to remember that these kids are still only five and six years old.  In diapers only a few years ago yet now expected to write and edit their own work!!  It makes me so proud to see the transformation that these children make in the ten months we are together.  The growth is remarkable but at the end of each day, as they run out onto the playground after school, it is evident just how important play really is to their development.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “#FMF Paint

  1. Cheryl April 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm Reply

    Play is essential. Paint. Sometimes, I don’t want it to be necessary–along with play dough when I think about clean up–but it is. The heights of creation with ushy gushy of fingerprint. Oh, the sheer joy it brings. Learning, it’s there amidst the chaos.
    I’m visiting from FMF.

    • clairesinclair April 11, 2014 at 6:17 pm Reply

      I always say my classroom is organized chaos. I love every minute of it!

  2. kellysshining April 11, 2014 at 11:59 pm Reply

    I am ever amazed at how things have changed so much. My son always came home with some of the loveliest creations in kindergarten and the best memories. Thank you for inspiring with the time that you have. I admire teachers. Things change so often yet you continue to do so much for our little ones.

    Dropping by from FMF. Have a wonderful weekend!

    • clairesinclair April 12, 2014 at 8:12 am Reply

      My children did too. They are 17 and 12 now, but we still have some of their artwork hanging in our home!!! They still get to create in Kindergarten, but sadly that is the stuff we have to leave out when there’s not enough time. Thanks for getting in touch.

  3. wisdomfromafather April 12, 2014 at 8:21 am Reply

    Nice transition to the meat of the post … let kids be kids. Good job.

    • clairesinclair April 12, 2014 at 5:20 pm Reply

      Thank you! Hope you are having a nice Saturday!

Leave a Reply

