Broken

no gift too small

This afternoon, I broke the lanyard chain that holds my key and ID card for work.  I know that doesn’t seem like a big deal, but it was one of the last gifts I got from my mom.  I am sure it can be replaced, but I don’t want to replace it.  I want that one.  I am going to find a place that will restring it.  All of my students love it because strung along the hundreds of tiny, colorful beads are hand painted, smiling faces of children.  They kids all know it was a gift from my mom and they know how special it is to me.

It is such a silly thing to be upset about.  I am sure I could find the same one on line and just buy a new one.  The thing is, every time I take that lanyard out of my bag and put it on, I smile, remembering my mom’s face when she gave it to me.  Even though she wasn’t able to get out and go shopping anymore, she was a catalog junkie.  She’d save them in a pile and call it her “homework” as she went through them dog earring each page when she found something that was “perfect” for one of us.

The lanyard was one of those gifts.  I am sure it won’t be hard to find someone to restring it.  I was worried that this might happen eventually.  I am actually surprised it lasted as long as it did.  I think I was able to find most of the beads that fell off.

It was a small gift.  I am sure it wasn’t even very expensive but it was from her and I am sure she was as happy to give it to me as I was to get it from her.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

