What year is this?

to each his own

When I have free time, I enjoy looking for and reading blogs written by others.  I occasionally share my own blogs in blog shares and by doing that, I open myself to a bigger blogging world.  Although I consider myself a fairly religious person, some of the blogs I stumble upon are extremely religious and not really “my cup of tea.”  Sometimes I will still read through them and other times, skip over it and go on to the next one.  Although a blog may not interest me, very few actually get me upset.  Today, I happened upon one that I clicked because of the picture in the link.  It was from Little House on the Prairie one of my favorite shows from when I was a little girl.  I was excited to read it until I read the first paragraph and then, although it kept making me angrier, I couldn’t stop reading it.  I will not share the site because I would never want to add negative comments to another person’s blog and this is obviously what this woman believes.  To each his own I guess.

It began like this,

How better can a woman serve her family than by being at home?

It went on to ask how can a woman work outside of the home and still be able to provide “the best” for her family, calling the love working mothers give to their families, “the leftovers,” and asking how a woman can find the time to nurture and care for the needs of her family when she works away from the home full time.  She wrote the the bible says, “God created woman to be a helper and to compliment a man.”  WHAT YEAR IS THIS??  She continued by writing that working mothers are working “the wrong job” because by working outside of the home, we were not providing our husbands to a clean house, supper, a  hug and a smile when they come home at the end of their day.

This was not written fifty years ago.  This was written last month.  I didn’t realize there were still people that thought this way.  That was why the photo of Little House on the Prairie was there.  A time, (in her opinion,) that gave children roots, common sense and the courage to stand for what is right in this sinful world.

Well, I have to work.  I love to work.  I want to work.  I love to be a mom.  I love to be a wife.  I don’t think I am raising children who have no common sense or who lack values –  and through it all at the end of the day when I come home from work, I still greet my husband and my kids with a smile and a hug…most of the time 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What year is this?

  1. cynthia July 21, 2014 at 3:35 pm Reply

    Claire, you know there is a whole lot of big time crazy going on out there. It does not affect your vehicle. Full speed ahead, damn the idiots.

  2. clairesinclair July 21, 2014 at 3:38 pm Reply

    No kidding Cynthia! So glad to live where we live and in this time we are living!! It isn’t the fight of stay at home vs working mom. That isn’t it at all. It is the expectations that blogger had. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

