Vandalized

dalai lama

When I see something vandalized, I often wonder why.  Especially when it is done in a place or to something that seems to have no reason behind it. Is it rebellion? Revenge?  Defiance? Someone looking for entertainment?  A form of art? Why would someone feel that it was okay to destroy or deface something that is not theirs?  It has always fascinated me. Perhaps because I am such a rule follower.  Perhaps they don’t realize that they are upsetting others when they express themselves.  Are they trying to get noticed?

Vandalizing is defined as when one individual or group deliberately destroys or damages a piece of property that is usually owned by someone else.

Last weekend, I was with a friend at our school’s playground and we noticed that the wall on the back of the school had been vandalized.  Someone had painted something on it.  I am still not sure what it says. “Stomp?” “Stoup?”

I took a photo of it and sent it to our principal.  She was already aware of it and had notified the head of building maintenance and grounds and it will be taken care of.  But I still have to wonder, why?  What is the purpose of this?

photo 3 photo 2

Today, we were in the park with our campers and I showed my director my mom’s bench.  When I went to it, I noticed someone had written on it in black marker.  Again, something that means absolutely nothing.  At least not to us.  Why?

photo 1

 We were just there last week, on her birthday and it wasn’t there.  I don’t think it will be hard to remove the writing from the bench but why should we have to?   The school wall and the benches in town are not a canvas.  They are not there for people to deface or damage.

It isn’t just writing or painting though. Dave was at a field playing soccer last week and when he arrived, the field hockey goals had been destroyed.

photo 1-1

We both say that we feel old and preachy but we really are starting to think, “Kids today…what are they thinking?  How can they not appreciate what they have?”  Yet, even as a kid, I didn’t do things like that.  I would never have even thought to destroy the property of someone else.

I guess in the grand scheme of things, it isn’t the worst thing that could happen but then again, I wonder if there is any remorse?  If they aren’t caught and punished for these “minor” things, will the crimes become bigger and more drastic as they get older?  I certainly hope not.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Vandalized

  1. M.B. Sanok July 26, 2014 at 11:38 am Reply

    Sometimes, graffiti can be interesting and, dare I say it, quite beautiful but not when property is destroyed or marred. It’s like they’re not channeling whatever emotions they’re having in the right way. Some of these people could really be creative and artistic instead of destructive. Another thoughtful post…

    • clairesinclair July 26, 2014 at 3:42 pm Reply

      Yes! MB I agree with you completely. When done in the right forum it is quite interesting!! It fascinates me in a way!!

  2. Ana Reyes July 27, 2014 at 10:18 am Reply

    I agree that it is very upsetting when property is defaced for no apparent reason. I ask myself what is it that the person or persons are lacking that they have a need to destroy things just for the fun of it. I too was very upset over the school’s defacing. I am very sorry that it also happened to your mom’s bench.

    • clairesinclair July 27, 2014 at 10:40 am Reply

      Fortunately, it can be fixed. Just sad when there seems to be no reason for it.

Leave a Reply

