Catching Up In Summer

one more episode

I guess if there is one thing I could say is an advantage of summer break, it would be catching up on everything.  I have read some books, went through files, organized closets and drawers and most recently, gotten hooked on a television show that everyone has been talking about. Orange is the New Black.

I am not sure if this is a good thing or not.  I have two seasons to catch up on and that is twenty-five, fifty minute episodes.  Although I love television, I am not one to sit in front of it for hours at a time.  I like to be busy.  I like to be active.  My mom used to tell me I had ants in my pants because I wouldn’t sit still.  I am still that way.  Yet, I watched one episode and got reeled in.  I knew this would be a show that Dave would like to so I had him watch the first episode as well and now we are both addicted. Since Thursday,we have watched ten episodes.  Nearly TEN hours of television!!! This is so unlike me.  There are so many other things I could should be doing.  With each episode I think, “if it is a bad one, I will stop watching.”  Instead, I am becoming engrossed in the story lines, the character development. The plot keeps getting better and better!  I am becoming an addict!  I don’t remember ever being so engrossed to a series and even then, I didn’t have Netflix so I couldn’t just sit and watch a marathon of episodes!  Being able to watch episode after episode without having to wait a week between each is awesome….or maybe a curse!

Dave and I promised each other that we would not watch episodes without each other so that we’d be in the same place. That makes it feel even more like an addiction, as I sit here waiting for him to get home from his soccer game just so we can watch at lease one before I go to bed.  My normal early bedtime has gotten later and later with each night!  I have plenty of days left during Summer Break, so I know I can catch up.  Then, I will watch it they way it was intended to be watched and just see one episode a week.  That I can handle.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Catching Up In Summer

  1. Sasha August 3, 2014 at 10:56 pm Reply

    Haha, I love it!! At least your watching it together so perhaps you could check it off as your “together time,” good for the strengthening of marriage. You could at least try to convince yourself of this. 🙂

    • clairesinclair August 3, 2014 at 11:02 pm Reply

      That’s a good way of thinking! Love it! Just watched another episode but have to get to sleep. Work in the morning!!!!

  2. Helen August 4, 2014 at 7:53 am Reply

    Yes, sometimes we spend so much time running around on missions that our real mission of spending down time with people we actually like gets put aside. I’ve found that my tv time can be my most valuable time with my family. Every Monday night we gather for the Bachelor/ette and or housewives (thanks to DVR), we bring snacks, occasionally invite a friend and not only have intense discussions about these crazy relationships, but a lot of laughs and enjoy each others company. We also get to know each other better based on our opinions of these crazy shows. On January 1st Janean sold her store on Baker St. and both of us were out of a job. We sat huddled in the house, under blankets binge watching Mad Men through snow fall after snow fall. Who gets to do this with their 20-something?! Now she’s back in the full-time rush and I barely get to see her. No regrets!!

Leave a Reply

