There’s No “I” in TEAM

theres no i in team

This afternoon Dave called me to tell me that the doctors were ordering my dad to go to the hospital because he had a low hemoglobin count.  He had been waiting for blood cultures to come back since Thursday because he just hadn’t been feeling well.  He had expected to just be put on an antibiotic but it wasn’t the answer he had been hoping for.  I won’t post much about his condition tonight because we don’t know much.  He was just finishing up with a blood transfusion when Dave and I left the hospital tonight.  We will know more tomorrow and I will update on his condition then.  He was in good spirits when we left…although The Giants Game had just begun and that wasn’t making him too happy!!

While I was in the emergency room with Dave and my dad, I decided to text my Kindergarten Teammates to tell them what was going on.  I was going to wait until tomorrow, but decided to let them know just in case his condition changed and I had to make plans for tomorrow.  Of course their sentimental texts back to me were loving and supportive asking how they could help. 

Then, Ola, one of our teammates let us know that she was on her way to St. Barnabas ER as well.  One of her family members had been brought there and she was rushing up to meet her.  In the meantime, she asked me if I’d go out to the waiting room to check on her since she wasn’t there yet.  I went and introduced myself reassuring them that Ola was on her way.  Not long after that, they were put in the room right next to my dad’s and minutes later Ola appeared. 

She had been out at the pet store with her dog when she got the call and rushed right up to the ER, not expecting to stay long.  When it turned out that she’d be staying longer than expected, within minutes, Martha, our “Queen Bee” team leader was on her way to get Ola’s dog to keep him. Jessica, another one of our teachers was bringing dinner for her and her family.  They had offered to bring food for us too, but we knew that since my dad was being admitted we were going to be heading out soon. 

As I was walking to the parking lot, Martha and her daughter were already there getting the dog.  Jessica was on her way with their dinner.  I am so lucky to work with these ladies. We really work like a well oiled machine sometimes. They are so much more than just my coworkers.  They are like my family and I love them for it!!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “There’s No “I” in TEAM

  1. stacers September 8, 2014 at 9:33 pm Reply

    Sending good vibes to you and your family as well as your teams family. I love that your team works so well together, it’s nice to find that. My first grade team works like that as well. It’s a rare find. 😄

    • clairesinclair September 9, 2014 at 6:39 am Reply

      Perhaps it is found a lot in teaching?!?! I am hearing a lot of this lately. So nice to have coworkers who respect and work with you isn’t it?

      • stacers September 12, 2014 at 7:21 am

        Yes, it really is when our coworkers take care of us. I hope it continues to be a growing “trend”. We need more stuff like that happening all around.

  2. Mary Lynn September 10, 2014 at 4:20 am Reply

    Hope all is okay with your dad.

    • clairesinclair September 10, 2014 at 6:38 am Reply

      Thanks Mar. He seems doing be doing better. When are you back in the USA??

Leave a Reply

