National Donut Day

donuts

This afternoon I read that it was “National Donut Day.”  Just another “National Something or other Day” I thought.  I even joked with Dave and the kids because we didn’t have a donut today to celebrate!  Doing a little more research into this though, I realized that Donut Day is not a new thing.  This year marks the 77th year of National Donut Day and there is a long history behind the day – or rather days because it turns out that sweet, round treat gets to be celebrated TWICE a year —  November 5 and the first Friday in June.

Started by The Salvation Army,

The idea for Donut Day began on the battlefields of France during World War I when Salvation Army workers served coffee and doughnuts to soldiers in the trenches. Rations were poor so the doughnut idea was conceived as a means of bringing the soldiers cheer. Doughnuts were not the reason Salvation Army workers were in the fighting zones of France. Those men and women were there primarily to give spiritual aid and comfort to the American soldier and his allies. They were there to be a link with home and family.

Though that world war has come and gone, Salvation Army workers continue to care for and comfort thousands of people each day who battle hunger around the world and here in the Chicagoland area. By supporting Donut Day, with a  donation or through volunteering, you help The Salvation Army keep its food pantries, meals on wheels, senior citizen feeding programs and childcare nutrition programs alive and well. If you can give a few dollars or a few hours of your time, you will help provide 1.5 million meals to the hungry in Chicagoland.

I figure that anything that gets the word out about hunger in America, has to be a good thing.  It does have me thinking about donuts though.  My favorite is Dunkin Donuts Chocolate Glazed.  NOT the frosted one.  Just the plain, chocolate cake donut.  I very rarely buy them because I cannot resist their temptation, but I indulge in one every Christmas morning when we gather at my dad’s house for Christmas breakfast. If ever Munchkins are brought to school and those tasty little chocolate ones are in the box, I have a very hard time saying no!!

Now I am reminiscing, but my favorite donuts ever were homemade ones that my Aunt Ellen made when I was younger.  I was visiting her in Alaska and she made them from scratch dipping them into sugar before serving them. We ate them warm.  I have never had one that tasted the same since!  If she lived closer, I am sure I’d beg her to make them for me more often.  Fortunately – she doesn’t live close enough for me to be tempted.  I will have to wait until she visits again to ask her!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

