Not A Drill

mr rogers not my problem

This afternoon, around 1:45 during my lunch, I received an email from the Superintendent of our schools.  I teach in the same district that I live in, so my boys go to school in the district.  The email was a voice message stating that a code red lock-down had been ordered at the high school where DJ goes to school.  According to the email, it was a precautionary lock-down.  I took it rather nonchalantly since we regularly practice these at school.  A few minutes later, I received an email from the school principal with the same message.  It concerned me a bit, so I sent DJ a message asking if he was okay but didn’t hear from him.

I went back to my classroom and was hearing sirens.  Our school is less than a mile from the high school.  That is when I started getting more concerned.  I finally got a text from DJ that read, “I am fine but I am not okay.”  It was just about dismissal time and I sent a quick note asking him what happened and he told me it was too much to text.

By now, the rumors were flying.  Gunshots?  Knives? Brass knuckles? I told DJ I’d come home right after school and he should meet me there.  I left right after dismissal and came home and found DJ in his room laying on his bed.

Since I probably shouldn’t write too much since we really don’t know the whole story, I am just retelling what DJ witnessed.  He saw police with guns drawn pass his classroom several times.  They entered his room, guns in the air screaming out a child’s name.  That child was in his class and DJ and the rest of the class witnessed him get arrested and carried out in front of all of them.

I still am hearing stories, texts and online sites are filled with what people witnessed or heard.  I don’t know exactly what happened.  I do know that DJ, who is one of the most laid back people I know, is a wreck.

I will not put blame on anyone right now.  I am grateful for all of the lock-down practices we have had.  I am grateful to his teacher who stayed calm and in charge.  I am grateful to the police officers who took action and stopped a dangerous situation before something tragic happened.  I have already had a call from the principal who is calling everyone who was in DJ’s class to speak with them and to us as parents.  She asked if we had questions or concerns and I thanked her for their handling of the situation. She said that counselors will be on hand tomorrow for any students who need to talk about what they witnessed.

Sadly, we live in a time hat we have to we have to practice these drills.  We always think it won’t happen where we live.  Obviously we were wrong.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Not A Drill

  1. jpjones314 November 10, 2014 at 10:15 pm Reply

    It’s so crazy for these kids Claire. Not only the incident but the circus that surrounds the incident. Helicopters waiting to catch a glimpse of panic. As I drove passed the highs chool on my way home I saw people lined the sidewalks five deep. What were they waiting to witness? while inside a kid who should have been learning and hangin with friends was traumatized.

    • clairesinclair November 10, 2014 at 10:39 pm Reply

      So crazy isn’t it? Best news is, everyone was safe. We practice these drills for a reason and today, the practice paid off. Everyone was calm and although it probably felt like an eternity for the kids, it ended safely. 💛💛

  2. jpjones314 November 11, 2014 at 8:01 am Reply

    True that. I am certainly glad that a system is in place, and authorities are able to do their job without chaos. It’s my personal societal ire that is run ragged by the lack of gun control in this country.

Leave a Reply

