Wrapped in a Hug

hug

Recently I bought a new sweater.  Well, new to me at least.  It was one of the purchases steals I got at  The Op Shop a few weeks ago. It is a dark gray, wrap-around cardigan.  It is long and warm and if I could wear it every day, I probably would!

It is kind of a long running joke in our family but Dave keeps our house pretty cold in the winter.  We have oil heat and after many expensive oil bills, instead of turning up the heat, we add extra layers.  The house is NEVER warmer than 65 degrees and that is “high” for us. During the day, when no one is home, it is at 55!!!! At night we kick it up to 60 and we bundle up under layers of blankets.  I sleep in socks and a hat!  The kids have grown to like it….although it is not uncommon to see Drew wearing his flannel robe over his clothes when he is in the house.  Sleeping in fleece pajamas, a sweatshirt over another long sleeved shirt with a hat and wooly socks doesn’t bode well in the romance department, but I guess after 21 years of marriage that honeymoon was over a long time ago!

Therefore warm sweaters are a must in our house.  I am wearing this particular new one for the second time this week. It is just so soft and snuggly, that when I wore it last week to school, I noticed I was getting a lot more hugs than often.  The hugs were lasting longer and at first I wondered why.  When one of my students told me how soft the sweater was she said she just couldn’t stop the hugs and I realized something.  The reason I love these big, snuggly sweaters…this one especially, is because it really does feel like I am wrapped up in a great big hug.

It may have only cost a few dollars at The Op Shop, but it is worth a lot more than that to me!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Wrapped in a Hug

  1. Lynne November 22, 2014 at 8:36 pm Reply

    I like the silk underwear that L.L.Bean or Lands End carries. Long johns and long sleeve undershirts keep me nice and toasty indoors and out. I’m outside a lot during the day, feeding ferals and doing chores.

    The fingertip less gloves, washable silk undergarments, and head coverings are most definitely a necessity in the colder months – even in Hayward, California. The house I rent has little insulation. Built in the mid 50’s when the weather was warmer I’m sure.

    (>’.'<)

  2. clairesinclair November 22, 2014 at 9:10 pm Reply

    Wow.
    those sound great. Might have to get some of those!

  3. M.B. Sanok November 24, 2014 at 9:34 am Reply

    We are the same way. 63 is our temp for winter during the day. As my mom always said, just throw on a sweater, so I continue to do so. Hoodies are very popular in our house.

Leave a Reply

