A Slurry of a Mess

create sunshine

Today’s “impending snow storm” turned out to be little more than a mix of snow, rain and sleet.  I was trying to come up with a good name for what it has created –  a bit of a slurry I guess.  It is not pretty.  It is wet and gross out there.  Just enough that we needed to shovel, (well….Dave did:) ) yet not enough to be able to go out and enjoy it.

This is not the kind of snow I look forward to and after last year’s numerous snow storms, I wasn’t very happy to see it arrive this morning.  My Kindergarteners were though!  The minute the first flake fell, they were planning their afternoon outdoor activities.  I didn’t have the heart to tell them that it wasn’t snowman or sledding snow like they all thought it was!

It is amazing how much joy snow brings to children while for adults, it is burdensome and rarely welcome.  I will admit, that when that first white, fluffy snow storm arrives, handing us a snow day, I feel like a little kid too.  Today, is not that day.  While I do NOT wish for much snow this winter, one or two of those perfect snow days will be welcome.

For now, I am grateful that I am inside my warm home as I begin to prepare dinner for tomorrow’s Thanksgiving feast.  I have nowhere to be, nowhere to go and on this cold, dreary day, it is exactly how I want it to be.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

