Turning a Loss Into a Win

saving money

Last year, the best present of Christmas was one that I gave to Dave and the boys. It was The 52 Week Money Challenge.  I had wrapped up a box filled with over $1300 that I had saved all year.  The plan was to use it for Spring Break and we did.  We went to Hilton Head Island in South Carolina and had a great time. The plan was that we would do it again this year.

I tried. I really did, but with Dave still out of work and more money being taken out of each pay check for benefits/insurance, there wasn’t as much “extra” money to do it.  I did not have as much photo work as I had the earlier in the year, although that began to pick up later in the year. So this year, I just wasn’t able to do the challenge completely.  I got close, but was disappointed because all year I had looked forward to wrapping up that box again and saying, “Where should we go this year??!!”

I had kept it a secret again but told Dave about it last weekend. I just purchased a new camera.  A splurge on myself way beyond my means.  My old camera was amazing, but after five years, it was getting tired and old and it was time to upgrade.  In the end, I had saved $900 of the $1300 in the money challenge.  I put that money towards the new camera instead. It was a HUGE amount to spend on myself. Something I never do.  It will definitely get put to good use – but I still feel some guilt over spending it all on myself.

I will try to do the challenge again next year, but with college looming over our heads for DJ, we will just have to see what happens.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Turning a Loss Into a Win

  1. boomiegirl December 21, 2014 at 7:10 pm Reply

    Claire, you did such a wonderful job. You should be proud of yourself. What you do for your family is so inspiring. You are so full of love. xo

    • clairesinclair December 21, 2014 at 7:11 pm Reply

      Thank you ❤ In the end, it was a win…I will get more photo work and put it towards next years challenge. ❤

  2. Alli Joseph December 21, 2014 at 8:15 pm Reply

    Investing in yourself is never something to be disappointed about. Indeed you will create new work with your new camera, because that is your intention. May it garner many jobs in 2015. ❤

    • clairesinclair December 21, 2014 at 8:47 pm Reply

      Thanks Alli. That’s the plan 🙂 Happy Holidays!!!

  3. bizigal December 21, 2014 at 11:53 pm Reply

    You only live once…:)

    • clairesinclair December 22, 2014 at 6:31 am Reply

      Sometimes I need to remember that mantra more often!! Happy Holidays to you!

  4. M.B. Sanok December 22, 2014 at 10:47 am Reply

    I love this idea. I save loose change in a large container because my mother-in-law used to do it. Years ago, that’s literally how she bought her dress for my wedding! It pays to save!

  5. bizigal December 22, 2014 at 12:29 pm Reply

    Merry Christmas to you !

  6. cynthia December 24, 2014 at 8:45 am Reply

    Claire for all you do for others you more than deserve to spend money on yourself. Besides maybe the camera will lead to more photog jobs…

Leave a Reply

