Cooking With Gram

cooking

Today is one of my favorite days of the year.  The day we get together and cook Christmas Eve dinner.  We get all of the sauces done; lobster sauce, clam sauce and mussels marinara.  This year, my cousin Lisa and I documented the whole process through photos.  We are going to put it together with all of the recipes into a cookbook.

Our family has been making the same recipes since before I was born, although throughout the years, some recipes have been tweaked and some deleted, (like the scuingilli – which is not a favorite of mine.)  We are still going to include all the recipes – especially the old ones.  We can’t find any that are written in our Gram’s handwriting but we are doing our best to authenticate them.

Even my grandma was helping out today, taste testing everything for us 🙂 I am not sure when she began making this feast.  She is celebrating her 100th Christmas this year! We can only hope to have her longevity.

Tomorrow, my aunt will go back to Gram’s house and start warming everything up while we go to Christmas Eve Mass.  Then the feast will commence!  Christmas Eve is my MOST favorite night of the year! I am like a little kid when it comes to waiting! 24 hours from now!! The count down begins!

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cooking With Gram

  1. Lynne Ellen Facher December 23, 2014 at 8:27 pm Reply

    Have a wonderful time celebrating Christmas with your family. My best to all – please give Charlie a hug for me from California. (>’.'<)

    • clairesinclair December 24, 2014 at 8:08 am Reply

      Thank you so much Lynne! I will tell Dad!! Enjoy the holiday season! ❤

Leave a Reply

