Colossians 3:12-21

colossians

Today’s reading at mass, is one of the ones the makes me cringe.  One of the ones that makes me wonder why I still go….

Wives, be subordinate to your husbands as is proper in the Lord. Husbands love your wives, and avoid any bitterness toward them.  Children obey your parents in everything, for this is pleasing to the Lord. Fathers, do not provoke your children so that they may not become discouraged.

As the lectern read those first words, I heard the couple behind me snicker. If Dave had been at mass, I am sure he’d have given me a knowing look as well.  I sat there…stewing…like I always do during this particular reading….and I wondered how Father Mitch would approach it in his homily, or if he would.

He started off by telling us that when he was a child, during this reading, his father would always nudge his mother during that line and she in turn would do the same to him when told to love her.  He said the children would laugh and smile at their parents when told to obey and not be provoked.

It made me happy to hear that even back when he was a child, (he is probably close to my dad’s age) people thought similarly as I do today.

He took this reading and he related it to the church as a whole.  Not necessarily as a husband/wife/child relationship, but as Catholics to their church.  Trust, love and belief in one another.  Loving and respecting our neighbors and genuine faith in humanity.

Hearing his interpretation of it, gave me a different perspective on this “dated” reading and that made me feel more gratified.  Thank you Father Mitch.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

