Reminiscing

reminiscing

Tonight we have more parent-teacher conferences.  Our district holds conferences twice a year. Two afternoon sessions and one in the evening.  This left me with an “free” afternoon so Dave and I went on a lunch date.  Something I never have time to do on a weekday.

We went to The Cheesecake Factory and had a relaxing, leisurely lunch just the two of us.  As we wandered through the mall, I reminisced about the days I used to spend there with the boys when they were really little. In the winter, when the weather was bad, I would bring them to the mall where they could get out of the house after being cooped up on snowy, cold days like we’ve had this season.

Drew would gravitate to Build a Bear and just watch the animals being created.  We wouldn’t have to spend a dime.  We’d just window shop and toss pennies in the fountains as they skipped through the long corridors.  Like it was their own indoor playground, (before there were indoor mall playgrounds). It was a local meeting place for many moms and dads.  A place to get away from the television, get the wiggles out with a bit of exercise and tire them out before a nap!

I went back to work after having each of them when they were 2 1/2.  So, I didn’t get to do it for a long time, but I remember those days so well.

I miss those days.  Now – my oldest can drive himself to the mall.  Crazy! It goes so fast!

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing

  1. cynthia February 26, 2015 at 9:33 pm Reply

    I miss the “old’ short hills mall. We used to go to Friendly’s with moms and kids. As a toddler, Kate learned how to “do stairs” on those weird green carpeted seats that were tiered.

    • clairesinclair February 27, 2015 at 6:40 am Reply

      Dave and I talk about the old Friendly’s all the time. My mom and I would go there and order the “clam boat” and a bowl of clam chowder. It was always such a treat. That was before it was called, “The Mall at Short Hills.” It was just, “The Short Hills Mall.

Leave a Reply

