We Celebrate it All

let's celebrate

St. Patrick’s Day came a few days late this year.  We waited for my aunt and uncle to return from their months long retreat to St. Martin so that we could all celebrate together like always.  My mom’s favorite holiday meal has been passed down to me. It is not a hard meal to prepare, it just takes a long time to make.  My house is too small for twenty-five guests so I cooked it all at my dad’s today and all of us met there this evening to eat.

Twenty pounds of corned beef, ten pounds of potatoes and three huge heads of cabbage.  It took three huge pots and two crock pots to get it all done but it was a success.  Irish Soda and rye breads on the side as well made it perfect.

My brother brought the Italian pastries, in honor of St. Joseph’s Day and our cousin Jason brought a cake that read, “Happy Secretaries Day.”  It has become his tradition to come with a cake celebrating “the wrong holiday” to our holiday celebrations.  Now we all look forward to seeing which one we will celebrate at each meal.  Our next big feast is in two weeks when we celebrate Easter. I wonder what that one will say!  Since it falls during Passover, I assume it will have to be an ice cream cake.  No grains for the Jewish side of the family.

Like I said….”We celebrate it all” in this family.  That’s what makes it so much fun.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “We Celebrate it All

  1. Lynne March 22, 2015 at 9:55 pm Reply

    The Gianni family has always known how to have fun.I remember lots of laughter.  Lots and lots of laughter.That made your family so special to me when I was ‘that neighbor across the hall’ @ Che Mar apartments over on Valley Street.  I remember Elaine and Bill, Richie and Dale, Ellie and Charlie always being some of the happiest folks I had ever met.  Our life across the hall was a difficult one and spending time with Ellie and Charlie made my life that much better.     Do you know we adopted our first dog from your aunt (or cousin)  I think she had two sons; Greg and ?? one had hopes of pre-med.  Ask you dad if he remembers who gave us Boris.  He was s Heinz 57 variety, and a great dog.     (>’.'<)

    • clairesinclair March 22, 2015 at 10:22 pm Reply

      Greg and Guy are their names. Greg is still in the area. Guy lives in California. He is a doctor. I didn’t know that story about your dog. Sadly my moms brother Bill passed away quite a few years ago. Richie and Dale were at dinner tonight. I will ask dad about Boris 😄

Leave a Reply

