Birthdays

time is like a river

Yesterday was my 45th birthday. It was a great day. My dad and mom always told me that they could probably count on one hand how many times it rained on my birthday.  I have been lucky with that. Spring is my favorite season, May is my favorite month and being born on May Day has always felt special.

DJ’s birthday is April 30th. The day before mine. This year he turned 18.  A few people have asked me if I feel “older” now that I am 45. I joked because now, I am closer to 50 than I am to 40!  I don’t feel it though.  Several people told me I don’t “look it” (not sure what 45 is supposed to look like) but as long as I keep busy and feel young that is what matters.

Truly, what makes me feel old is this….
My son is 18 years old. I am now the parent of an adult. An ADULT!! Everyone tells you to enjoy your children when they are young because “it goes by so fast.”  They were right! So my advice to all of you with young children is the same.  Enjoy everyday. It goes by in a blink of an eye!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Birthdays

  1. Lynne Ellen Facher May 2, 2015 at 10:14 pm Reply

    I’m with you Claire. So many have told me I don’t look 60. Not sure what 60 is supposed to look like either, but it looks different then 45. Keeping busy and on the bright side of things is the key. This I am sure. (>’.'<)

Leave a Reply

