Love is…

14 love is.JPG

Happy Valentine’s Day!

25 years ago tonight, was the night Dave asked me to marry him. It was a Friday night. He drove 250 miles to Washington, DC, where I was in school at American University. I was a senior. We’d been together since high school so even though we were only 22, we thought nothing of how young we were. Nowadays, people remark on how we were crazy to have gotten engaged so young, and I am sure back then there were many who doubted that it would last, but here we are…all these years later and I am still in love with my best friend.

I guess I kind of knew it when we met even in high school. He became my best friend the day I met him. People joked with us about how funny it would be if Claire Gianni married Dave Sinclair – she’d be forever known as Claire Sinclair. We just laughed about it but sure enough, that’s who I am!

Since that day, we have never really done anything big for Valentine’s Day. I don’t like flowers, they never last long enough. Chocolate is always a treat but often Lent falls right around the same time and I always give it up so I can’t eat it. Sometimes we’ll go out to dinner but usually we keep it simple with just a card or a sweet message to each other.

This morning, Dave gave me a gift. After we promised NO gifts this year. It was a big bag filled with my favorite treats and sweets. Tea, kind bars, chocolate, cliff bars, caramel corn…all things I love. I guess after 25 years, he really does know me!

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

